Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departmental News

Posted by jennifer_michal | July 29, 2021

Leila Styer is celebrating her 30th year as a WSU employee. Congratulations and thanks for all you do for the department and WSU!

Jennifer Kiser received the 2021 Administrative Professional Technical Staff Excellence award. Congratulations, Jennifer!

We congratulate Joe Harrison on his well-deserved retirement after more than 30 years of service to WSU.

The Meats Laboratory’s animal handling facilities got a facelift, thanks to CARES funding. The renovations will improve access and animal and employee safety.

The Meats Laboratory has upgraded its meat packaging equipment, which will improve product shelf life. An automatic patty maker will also be online soon!

Internet upgrades at the Knott Dairy Center and the Ensminger Beef Cattle Center will enhance communication and facilitate remote access, improving teaching, research, and safety.

Zhihua Jiang received a Fulbright Scholar Award to Australia for developing the Central Dogma of Phenomics. Congratulations, Zhihua!

We said goodbye to Jim and Cindy Pru as they left WSU for new challenges in the Department of Animal Science at the University of Wyoming.

We wish André-Denis Wright, Dean of CAHNRS, well as he starts a new journey as Senior Vice President and Provost at the University of Oklahoma.

2021 American Society of Animal Science Scholastic Achievement Award Winners

Ammasie S. Allred
Emma J. Atkinson
Taylor M. Bartoschek
Katie Beckner
Jessica M. Boos
Alyssa J. Bothwell
Logan C. Butler
Madison E. Escobar
Madison J. Fallang
Caitlin E. Fitzpatrick
Natalie F. Fogarty
Hannah M. Foss
Abby K. Hayden
Natalie M. Hayes
Dylan C. Hereford
Lauryn R. Hodge
Jenna D. Holt
Delaney E. Kennedy
Esther M. Langholt
Grace M. Lieuallen
Brook L. Mac
Jaiden R. Mahoney
Isabel M. Mocca
Lilian S. Moore
Anna R. Muszynski
Shelby L. Nelson
Luke K. Pietsch
Julia R. Rea
Audrey M. Snedecor
Jonah M. Wisen