Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Safety Committee

Mission Statement

At Washington State University, maintaining and enhancing a safe work environment is a responsibility that is shared by the administration, supervisors, employees, safety and health and risk management offices, and safety committees.

The Chair of the Department of Animal Sciences is committed to protecting the safety and health of faculty, staff, students, and visitors. In order to fulfill this commitment the Chair of Animal Sciences has established the Animal Sciences Safety Committee to advise and assist unit management in promoting health and safety issues.

Employee involvement in the unit’s safety and health efforts including safety committee activities is necessary to ensure a safe and healthful workplace. The Animal Sciences Safety Committee provides a forum where every employee or student within the department can communicate safety related concerns. Hazards that are identified and shared with the safety committee will be addressed in a timely manner. The ultimate goal is to prevent injury or illness.

Department Chair

Gordon Murdoch
(509) 335-5523

Safety Committee Members

Jeanene de Avila
(509) 335-0675

Jeremy Heiss
(509) 335-6491

Jennifer Kiser

Alaina McCully
(509) 335-1521

Jennifer Michal
(509) 335-1002

John Swain
(509) 335-5280