Skip to main content Skip to navigation
College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences Department of Animal Sciences

Safety Committee

Mission Statement

At Washington State University, maintaining and enhancing a safe work environment is a responsibility that is shared by the administration, supervisors, employees, safety and health and risk management offices, and safety committees.

The Chair of Animal Science is committed to protecting the safety and health of faculty, staff, students, and visitors. In order to fulfill this commitment the Chair of Animal Science has established the Animal Science Safety Committee to advise and assist unit management in promoting health and safety issues.

Employee involvement in the unit’s safety and health efforts including safety committee activities is necessary to ensure a safe and healthful workplace. The Animal Safety Committee provides a forum where every employee or student within the department can communicate safety related concerns. Hazards that are identified and shared with the safety committee will be addressed in a timely manner. The ultimate goal is to prevent injury or illness.

Organizational Chart

Interim Department ChairKris Johnsonjohnsoka@wsu.edu(509) 335-5523
Safety Committee ChairmanJerry Weberjerryweber@wsu.edu(509) 335-7514
Safety Committee MembersJane Allenbyjallenby@wsu.edu(509) 335-1521
Jeanene de Aviladeavilaj@wsu.edu(509) 335-0675
Safety Committee RecorderJeremy Heissjhheiss@wsu.edu(509) 335-6964
Jennifer Michaljennifer_michal@wsu.edu(509) 335-1002
Mark Nelsonnelsonm@wsu.edu(509) 335-5623